Domodossola Revisited and Tips for a Comfy Train Ride to Italy from Switzerland

I always love coming back to Domodossola. I enjoy waking up early to catch the train and eat my breakfast on the go. Sometimes I snooze or get some serious reading done on the way.

I like to pack these items listed below to insure a comfortable train journey.

– A bottle of water and some snacks.

– Some music and good headphones. Mandatory if you want to drown out noise.

– A novel, or some kind of reading material.

– A jumper or a lightweight infinity scarf. Essential for covering up your ugly sleeping face, or to simply stay warm.

– And ladies, this will save you from a lot of public toilet traumas. Believe me. It’s a life saver. For my Swiss readers, you can get it here.

I’ll also make sure to look up when my train leaves in the afternoon so that I don’t have to run down the street like a crazy woman.

I highly recommend reading up on what you’re allowed to bring back from Italy, and of course, the quantities too. Lastly, always remember to ask for and keep the receipts of whatever you purchase in Domodossola.

Domodossola_anchoritdown

Domodossola_anchoritdown

Domodossola_anchoritdown

Domodossola_anchoritdown

Domodossola_anchoritdown

Domodossola_anchoritdown


We’ve been back here a few more times since I blogged about it last year. It’s a great day trip activity to do with any guests from overseas, or simply browse around and stock up on delicious antipasti and other Italian things.

Good food and vibes are going to make your day. If not, the coffee alone will!

3 thoughts on “Domodossola Revisited and Tips for a Comfy Train Ride to Italy from Switzerland

  1. Oooh interesting. I’m going to read your other post about the trip now. I’m going to Switzerland in July and looking for an Italian day trip that makes sense. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Domodossola, Italy – put this on your list - Contented Traveller | Contented Traveller

Leave a Reply

