Baked Coconut Bites Dipped in Dark Chocolate

These are actually what people call bite-sized coconut macaroons, but since you don’t need to fuss around with the egg whites and just mix everything in a large bowl, I’m going to call them baked coconut bites instead.

Sometimes I crave Bounty bars but I stopped buying them when I picked up jogging last year. This doesn’t mean I’ve divorced sweet things (I still love you Nutella), it just means I calculate how hard I’ll cry after I down something I know will take me ages to burn off on my next jogging session.

So I made something similar at home that tasted just as good as the real thing. Plus, I don’t need to cry so much every time I eat a couple in one sitting.

These dark chocolate covered baked coconut bites are slightly crisp on the outside with a brownie-like texture in the centre. They’ll keep well inside a tin for up to three days, so don’t worry about the leftovers.

Coconut Macaroons/Coconut Bites Dipped in Dark Chocolate

(for approx. 24 pieces)

Click here for the original recipe*

  •  2 cups shredded, unsweetened coconut
  • 1 egg white
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/2 Tbsp cornstarch
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 100g dark chocolate, melted (for dipping later)
  1. Preheat the oven  to 180C.
  2. Mix everything in a large mixing bowl.
  3. Drop rounded spoonfuls of the mixture on to the baking tray.
  4. Bake for about 12 minutes until they are golden brown.
  5. Dip the cooled coconut balls in melted dark chocolate.

 

2 thoughts on “Baked Coconut Bites Dipped in Dark Chocolate

Leave a Reply

