Soft and Fluffy Whole Wheat Honey Rolls

image

I’m used to eating hard crust breads in Switzerland now, but every once in a while I’ll crave the soft and fluffy ones I grew up with in New Zealand.

Although my mum was a fantastic cook, she never baked breads or any kind of desserts in the oven, so I grew up thinking that fresh bread was only available at the supermarket – fluffy, square and pre-sliced to fit the toaster – for the majority of my childhood. My child-brain associated hard-looking crusty breads as stale day-old breads and could never understand why people went to the bakery to buy them on purpose.

Anyway, I don’t know what triggered my craving for them again, but I wasn’t keen on the idea of buying them. I’ve heard too many unpleasant things about supermarket-bought soft breads and rolls, so I opted to make something a tad bit more healthy at home.

This super easy whole wheat dinner rolls recipe did the trick. I added a little more honey to the recipe and sprinkled poppy seeds over the top. These rolls pull apart really easily and taste absolutely divine. However, do keep in mind that the honey will add a sweet kick to the overall taste of these rolls so they may not go so nicely with all kinds of dish, sides or fillings.

2 thoughts on “Soft and Fluffy Whole Wheat Honey Rolls

  1. I’ve never thought about the fact that NZ rolls are always soft – I guess that is quite unique! These would be perfect with soup tonight on this cold calgary day.

    • I hope you’re staying warm in the freezing temperatures! The real cold is yet to arrive here but I already feel frozen 😦

Leave a Reply

