Stuffed Tomatoes with Leftover Rice

image

Sometimes I like to make a lot of rice in advance to use it in other dishes throughout the week. Normally I tend to make chinese-style fried rice on the following day, but this time I wanted to cook something slightly fancier for dinner.

Upon reading this post I got inspired to make my own version of the stuffed tomatoes using only what I had in stock.
I’m glad to say that it turned out delicious, and I’m not just saying that.

These stuffed tomatoes went so well with a bottle of Chianti and some green salad on the side.

I roughly used:

  • 500g minced beef, browned first with some diced onion, crushed garlic cloves, salt and pepper.
  • 1x serving of leftover rice.
  • 1x serving of cooked pearl barley.
  • 1x beef stock cube.
  • 2 tbsp tomato paste.
  • 1x glass of red wine.
  • Handful of fresh herbs like basil, oregano, parsley and chives.

When you have something resembling risotto, it’s ready for stuffing. This should fill about 8-9 medium-sized tomatoes. Bake for about 20-30 minutes in a preheated oven at 180C.

There are really good stuffed tomatoes recipes online, so just do your research.

P.S. This tastes even better on the next day.

Leave a Reply

