Castle Chillon in Veytaux, Switzerland

I’ve seen a lot of castles on top of hills and mountains while travelling on the train in Switzerland, but this particular castle intrigued me the most because it was located at the edge of a lake. I first noticed it on our way to Vevey at the beginning of the year, and we finally made it there a couple of weekends ago.

For a tiny entrance fee, castle Chillon (château de Chillon) is open to the public to explore at their own pace. S and I aren’t fans of guided tours, so we skipped the history lesson and dove right into exploring this magnificent lakeside castle in Veytaux near Montreux by ourselves.

It took us about three hours to view the entire place, but I’m sure it can be done a lot quicker if need it be. Hardly anything was fenced off or locked, so we really took our time to take in all the beauty of the stone walls before our feet called it quits.

It’s a very well-preserved and maintained castle for people of all ages to enjoy. Children can play dress-up and pretend to be dragons, knights, princes, and princesses, while adults can be all fancy and sip on wine if they so wish.

????????????????????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????????????????? ????????????????????????????????????????????

????????????????????????????????????????????

????????????????????????????????????????????

????????????????????????????????????????????

????????????????????????????????????????????

????????????????????????????????????????????

????????????????????????????????????????????

????????????????????????????????????????????

????????????????????????????????????????????

????????????????????????????????????????????

????????????????????????????????????????????

????????????????????????????????????????????

????????????????????????????????????????????

????????????????????????????????????????????

????????????????????????????????????????????

**Thanks for noticing my blog and for all your comments, Herman. I’m flattered that you nominated my blog twice for the liebster award, but since I won’t be partaking in the tag for personal reasons, (and also because you’re a Merida fan and a castle person) I’m dedicating this post to you.

6 thoughts on “Castle Chillon in Veytaux, Switzerland

  1. These are lovely photos. I think I should just emigrate to Europe, as that’s the only way I’ll be able to visit all these places.

    Your fifth photo looks like the courtyard of Winterfell 😀

    I didn’t realise I’ve already nominated you twice. That’s inexcusable and I herewith retract the second nomination 😉 But seriously, thanks for the dedication. I’ll have a banana ice cream in your honour later today.

    BTW, are adults also allowed to dress up like knights and princesses, cause the wife and I would definitely go for that. (No, not in a kinky way. Get your mind out of the gutter. Sheesh!)

    • All the guides were dressed up in medieval costumes, so if you don’t mind random people approaching you to explain the historical significance of …. a particular hole in the wall or something, I don’t see why not 🙂 If my husband and I spoke French, we would have worn dragon costumes and waged war with all the little knights and made up magnificant stories to tell fellow baby dragons touring the castle.

Leave a Reply

