10 Must-try Food and Drinks in NZ

February 6 is Waitangi day in New Zealand and the weather was apparently extremely nice in Auckland (sunny 25°C). I’m sitting here in a sulk because I can see snow flurries outside my window and the temperature is hovering around 0°C. Instead of donning my sunnies and a pair of jandals at the beach, I’m wrapped up in a blanket with a hot cuppa in hand and my favourite Kiwi tracks playing in the background. My urge to go basking in the sun keeps getting stronger with every picture I see of people enjoying summer in New Zealand. I sigh when I look down at my fingers as I type because the lovely suntan I had acquired during my trip back there last December is getting lighter already. Plus, those pictures got me craving for things I cannot get over here. Here’s a list of 10 things I consider absolutely scrumptious and crave from time to time. These are a must-try for adventurous eaters visiting NZ.

Here it is, in no particular order:

  1. Whittaker’s Peanut Slab
  2. Griffin’s Squiggles Hokey Pokey Biscuits
  3. Cadbury’s Caramel Chocolate Bar
  4. Bluebird’s Burger Rings
  5. Pascall’s Pineapple Lumps
  6. Fish and Chips with Watties Tomato Sauce
  7. Steak and Cheese Pie
  8. Feijoas (It’s a fruit)
  9. L&P Drink
  10. Flat White Coffee

So. hungry. right. now.

Don’t get me wrong, I love the food here in Switzerland. It’s just that every once in a while I get the cravings for these mostly unhealthy but totes yummy things that I grew up with.

If you’re an ice cream person, you might want to give the Hokey pokey flavour a try. I personally love anything from the Killinchy Gold range, especially the maple syrup and walnut flavoured ice cream.

Anyway, here’s a clip of my favourite song by Kiwi band Six60 entitled Forever below.

What’s your favorite foodstuffs from NZ? Please let me know in the comments section 🙂

8 thoughts on “10 Must-try Food and Drinks in NZ

  1. Thanks for commenting on one of my posts, it made me come over to your site.

    And of course now I have read out your food list to my Kiwi wife who is smiling away and wants to add Hokey Pokey icecream and Griffin’s Ginger Nut biscuits.

    • She’s absolutely right about the ginger nut biscuits. They are so good!!! The good ol’ Hockey Pokey ice cream did get a mention too below the list 🙂 Please say thanks to your wife for her input. I appreciate it.

    • Omg yes! I’m so gutted I won’t be able to try this until … gosh, who knows when. I hope it’s good. You have to tell me about it when you get around to trying it 🙂

  2. That is a very complete list of NZ favourites. How often we have Whittakers sent over to us here! I’m not familiar with Six60 – enjoyed the clip though. I’m trying to get my head around your story – you are a Kiwi now living in Switzerland and travelling a LOT. I’m enjoying reading your journey – hope that Jesse and I will able to explore as much while living here in the Northern Hem.

Leave a Reply

