Musings of a Kiwi Leaving NZ Again

I’ll see you when I see you, Auckland.

image

image

On my way to the airport, I felt overwhelmed with emotions. Leaving Auckland again for the second time felt very different to when I had to say goodbye to it three years ago. Back then, I left with the notion of New Zealand being my home. Now, I’m not sure if I can still say that about this place in the same way that I had done before.

I may not be a tangata whenua, but I’ve always been and still am very proud to be a Kiwi. However, somehow this place that I’ve been calling home has become very familiar yet unfamiliar at the same time. Is it Auckland that has changed or is it me?

What is this unspeakable pain that I’m feeling right now?

2 thoughts on “Musings of a Kiwi Leaving NZ Again

Leave a Reply

