Blissful Eats at the Tartine Bakery and Cafe

I became obsessed with the art of bread baking after reading Nicole’s blog post about Tartine over at ‘Pinch My Salt’ early last year.

The idea of growing your own wild yeast from a starter intrigued me so much that I remember spending hours on the internet afterwards trying to find more information about it. This led me to Francis-Olive’s Tartine Bread Experiment and I’ve been following her blog ever since.

If you aren’t familiar with Tartine and their amazing breads, take a look at this short clip. Watch it. You’ll know what I’m talking about.

My friend, those breads right there embodies art and love. I know because I went there and finally tasted the real thing. S and I visited the Tartine Bakery and Cafe when we were in San Francisco a few weeks ago.

???????????????????????????????

I don’t know why the building itself had no sign. It was horrible enough trying to find a decent parking spot, but we got there in the end thanks to our GPS.

???????????????????????????????

I wasn’t expecting the line to be that long in the afternoon, but people behind the counter were doing an amazing job at keeping the line moving as fast as they can. I’d say we waited for a bit over 30 minutes until we received what we ordered on our table (which I thought was completely acceptable as that’s how long I’d normally have to wait to eat at a proper restaurant too).

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

We munched on giant chocolate chip cookies to prevent ourselves from taking a bite out of some stranger’s sandwich while we waited for our food to arrive. Despite how ugly the cookie looks here, it was delicious.

???????????????????????????????

Then voila – our hot pressed sandwiches came out. I present to you deh Jambon Royale & Gruyère,

???????????????????????????????

and deh Spicy Turkey.

???????????????????????????????

Fresh ingredients, lovely melted cheese and the amazing crispy flavourful bread. They tasted as perfect as I had imagined them to be –  just absolutely heavenly.

Although the prices were a bit high, their deliciousness and generous portions made them well worth the money. Gosh, my mouth is watering from thinking about them again. I really have to try recreating them at home.

Wish me luck!

5 comments

    • Gigi

      A simple combination of melted cheese with hearty fillings on butter toasted bread slices tend to make ya crave hot sandwiches immediately don’t they ;) hope you had something nice for lunch!

  1. Lucy Jane Cakes

    Next time you’re in the area give B. Pastisserie a try! I stuffed my face in SF on my last visit (I’m moving there in 2 weeks) -http://lucyjanecakesblog.com/2013/04/29/san-francisco-treats/ and while expensive.. it was totally amaze-balls.

Leave a Reply

